Audit and Risk Committee

The AASB and AUASB Audit and Risk Committee’s (ARC) role is to provide independent assurance and assistance to the Chairs on their financial and performance reporting responsibilities, risk oversight and management, and system of internal control. The Committee is not responsible for the executive management of these functions. The Committee engages with management in discharging its advisory responsibilities and formulating its advice to the Chairs.

The Audit and Risk Committee follows the recommended practice guidelines issued by the Department of Finance for non-corporate Commonwealth entities. The Audit and Risk Committee comprises an independent external Chair, and two external members. The Australian National Audit Office (ANAO) also attends Audit and Risk Committee meetings as an observer, as do other AASB and AUASB management representatives.

Audit and Risk Committee members are:

Member Qualifications, knowledge skills or experience

Mark Stretton

BCom(Acc&Fin), BEc, GradDipAppFin&Inv, FFIn, CA, CPA
Mark is a partner with Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu where he has 28 years experience providing audit and assurance services in Australia and internationally.

Kylie Maher

Graduate, Australian Institute of Company Directors, Certified Practicing Accountant (CPA), Bachelor of Business (Accounting) and Member, Institute of Internal Auditors. Kylie has 25 years experience in providing Finance, Risk and Governance advisory services as a Partner/Director at Moore Australia and KPMG.

Ric De Santi

BBus (Accounting), FCPA, GAICD. Ric is a non-executive director with extensive board and audit committee experience. Before retiring from full time work, Ric was Deputy Auditor-General in Tasmania with over 35 years’ experience in public sector audit.  He is also a former Director and Deputy President of CPA Australia.

Dale Pinto

John Curtin Distinguished Professor Dale Pinto FCPA PhD (Law) (Melb) MTax (Hons) (Syd) PGradDipBus (Dist) (Curtin) BBus (Dist) (Curtin) FCPA FTMA FAAL CA CTA-Life AFAIM MAICD. Dale is a John Curtin Distinguished Professor at Curtin University and Deputy President of CPA Australia.  He has accumulated over 30 years of professional, commercial, and educational experience across the government, NFP and regulatory sectors, as well as professional law and accounting bodies and educational institutions. He has considerable board, finance, and audit experience. 

Greg Rimmer-Hollyman

Greg has over 25 years’ leadership experience in developing, implementing, transforming and leading internal audit and risk functions which provided governance and integrity advice for large organisations in various sectors in Australia and South Africa. Greg has worked with numerous boards both in the public and private sector in addition to sitting as an Independent Audit and Risk Committee member for various organisations. Greg has multiple professional qualifications and certifications including, CPA (Australia), Chartered Public Finance Accountant (CPFA), Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD), Chartered Internal Auditor (CMIIA), Qualification in Internal Audit Leadership (QIAL), Certified Internal Auditor and Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA).

His commitment to the internal audit profession has also been recognised internationally through various non-executive leadership appointments to the Global Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) structure where he has held the non-executive positions of Chairman of the Global IIA’s Institute Relations Committee, Chairman of the Public Sector Committee and Vice Chairman of the Global Ethics Committee and was involved as a subject matter expert on recent international guidance provided to public sector auditors. He was also the national board chairman of the IIA in South Africa, chairman of the IIA Victoria Chapter in Australia and a member of the national board for IIA Australia.

Audit and Risk Committee Charter

Subscribe for updates Subscribe